Gestational Diabetes

So I got a call from my OB yesterday morning. I failed my 3 hour sugar test. So I have gestational diabetes with this pregnancy. I was devastated at first. I cried for a very long time. My first thought was, “There goes my chance for a VBAC.” I say that because I know that the doctors are going to try to scare me by telling me I’m going to have a huge 20 pound baby and that I’m going to need a c-section. I don’t care HOW big my baby is I am going to try for the VBAC that I have always wanted.  My second thought was that I am worried about the health of my unborn daughter. My husband and I are going to a Diabetes Education Class this week and will get all the info we need to keep our baby girl and me healthy. I will be given a monitor and test strips and will need to check my blood sugar probably 3 times a day. I plan on eating healthy from now on and doing my best to keep my blood sugar under control. I want my baby to be healthy and I want both of us to be able to experience a VBAC. My husband told me that he would eat what I eat and stay on this new diet with me. I love him. I’m thankful that he wants to do this with me. I’m starting to feel a little better about the whole ordeal. This might be just what I needed to FORCE me to eat right.

Leave a Reply

