Our Birth Plan

Why write a birth plan? I have taken an excerpt from the article found here: http://pregnancychildbirth.suite101.com/article.cfm/planning_your_birth

It explains, probably better than I could in my own words, why writing a birth plan is so important.  Here it is:

Critics of birth planning say that you should never plan your own birth since it is too hard to predict. There are two problems if parents do not have a birth plan. One is that there are many details to think through and discuss with your birth team. It is very difficult to go through every issue, the pros and cons as well as alternatives in birth, while in the throes of labor. (I can definitely attest to that!)

The other is the problem of simply letting things happen without any planning. Would you simply “wing it” on your wedding day with no preparation? Not likely. Our wedding day is no less important and equally as stressful as birth. Not to mention there are unpredictable events at nearly every wedding. Planning your wedding well in advance can ease some of the stress for a new couple, just as writing a birth plan can make a birth experience a bit easier for everyone.

Here is our birth plan for our daughter. Our course I don’t expect EVERYTHING to happen as I have planned/typed out BUT at least I know what I would like to happen before I’m in pain or knocked out by drugs etc. My husband has also told me he will be my advocate and will do his very best to make sure our birth plan is carried out as much as possible.  Neither of us quite knew what to expect the first time so THIS time we have a game plan! We’re going in prepared and we’re not going to let anyone talk us into UNNECESSARY actions!

Our Birth Plan

In Attendance:  Glenn Allison (husband)

Labor:

  • I plan on going unmedicated but am leaving the option open in case of intense or prolonged labor with an epidural and Pitocin being last resorts (because they have the tendency to lead to RCS).
  • Please do not offer an epidural. I will request one if necessary.
  • If I do request an epidural I do NOT want one until after 4cm. Low dose preferred  if possible.
  • We wish to allow the process of labor and birth to unfold naturally, with no time limits imposed on any stage of labor as long as Mom and baby are not in immediate danger.
  • I request that the monitoring be wireless so I can walk around.
  • I request that no internal monitoring be used unless there is a clear medical indication for it.
  • I would like to have clear fluids available during labor.
  • I would like to use water (tub/shower) to help control pain.
  • I would like to take pictures of labor and/or the birth.
  • I would prefer to have no residents or students attending my birth.

Delivery:

  • I would like my husband and/or nurses to support me and my legs as necessary during the pushing stage.
  • I would only like an episiotomy if absolutely necessary. I would prefer one to ripping.
  • I would like a mirror available so I can see my daughter’s head when it crowns.
  • I would like my husband present at all times if my daughter requires a Cesarean delivery.

After Birth:

  • I would like to have my daughter placed on my stomach/chest immediately after delivery.
  • I request that cord clamping/cutting be delayed at least 3-5 minutes after birth. Glenn would like to cut the cord.
  • I request skin-to-skin contact and nursing asap after birth. Baby will be exclusively breastfed.
  • I request that the baby remain in our sight for measurements, treatments, etc.
  • I would like to view the placenta after it is delivered.
  • If our daughter must be taken from us to receive medical treatment, my husband will accompany our daughter at all times.
  • Unless medically necessary, I do not wish to have any bottles given to my daughter (including glucose water or plain water).
  • I do not want my daughter to be given a pacifier. 

Thank you for taking the time to help us achieve a successful VBAC for mom and baby!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 19:11:50

    Out of curiosity, why are you requesting to see the placenta? I’ve never thought about doing that.

    Reply

    • happymommy85
      Jul 26, 2010 @ 21:47:23

      lol. My husband asked the same thing when I was writing the birth plan. That was the only thing he thought was weird. I guess I don’t have a good answer. I’ve always wanted to see it in real life. 🙂 I want to see what helped my baby grow and stay fed. I think it’s so neat how God designed everything. However, I’m not one of the those people who want to take it home and bury it! I just want to see it and they can throw it away. But seriously, If I don’t get to see it I won’t be too disappointed. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

